Anger Management: a blog post

Unlike the last two professionalism blog posts, I do not need to look up the definition of this topic. Not only is it self explanatory…but I have first hand experience in anger management.

It’s sad to say but, yes, this joker has an anger problem. Not quite like the batman universe Joker, but you get the point. It’s hard to deal with anger, especially in a public setting and even more so in a professional setting.

If I personally get angry about something at home I get a headache and can not deal with anything else until the problem is either solved right then or I am at a point where I can stop and pick it up some other time. Most of the time, the latter wins and I end up sitting at a problem, fuming, with no way to fix it. Now, at home, a few expletives might be spoken and I might type a little harder…but in public is a completely different story.

It is not appropriate to get as angry as I do at home in a public setting like school or work. My co-workers do not believe I have trouble dealing with my anger, some even believe I can’t get angry at all! This is because a whole new form of anger comes out in these settings.

I might joke a little more or become a little more excessive in my hand movements. I usually just mutter to myself about “Why won’t this work?!” or “What’s happening??? Ughh!”

While I am still working to make it to a point where I don’t even do this and I can calmly look at a problem and study it carefully, I am still stuck in a state of, “I know it’s wrong to get to my usual point of anger in public…but right now there is nothing I can do besides suppress it.”

Getting to my main point, it is very unprofessional to get really angry and can even cause problems if you get to a cursing kind of point. Nobody wants to hire someone who has a problem like this because what if they blow up in front of a client? What will it say about the company?

Getting angry also messes with your head on some level. You are too busy being angry at the idea that there is a problem and you have to fix it now that you can’t think straight or you can’t find it easily. If you can get to a point where you can clear your mind you will get done a lot faster.

It may not seem like the few seconds it takes you to have a small mental exclamation point of anger is a lot, but in the end it can add up depending on how often and how easily you can get angry.

To put it simply: Getting angry makes it hard to think, I often refer to my anger episodes as “seeing red” because I’m too busy seeing the anger to see the problem. It can also give you and any company you look for a bad image if you are not careful enough. It is good to talk to someone if you have an anger problem as well, it really does help and, another note, it is not good to suppress anger. It’s best to come up with a method to calm yourself down instead of shoving it to the side because you might end up snapping at someone who had nothing to do with it in the first place!

Leave a Reply

